Eastern Orthodox Christians

The Eastern Orthodox Christian Church (sometimes referred to as Greek Orthodox) may be distinguished by five principle denominations: (1) Greek Church follows the original Greek or Byzantine liturgy formed at Constantinople during the 4th and 5th centuries; (2) Syrian liturgy is observed by followers in Syria, Palestine, and Egypt; (3) Armenian rite is used primarily Armenians in Asiatic Turkey, Persia, Russia, and colonies in Hungary, and Ukraine; (4) Coptic rite is followed in Egypt and Abyssinia; (5) Chaldean rite has followers in Persia, India, and Malabar Islands.

home-icon-silhouette remove-button inverted-commas facebook youtube user two-down-arrows fast-forward-double-right-arrows menu download-to-storage-drive right-arrow arrow-down-sign-to-navigate quote search magnifying-glass direct-download warning